Which companies operating in the financial sector in Estonia must have an internal auditor?
What are the requirements for the qualification and activities of the internal auditor?

The financial sector can be divided into four main groups:

  • banking and credit
  • insurance
  • payment services
  • investment

These, in turn, are divided into subgroups, each of which is subject to a different law and statutory requirements for the internal audit function. In addition, the provision of internal audit services is regulated by the Auditors Activities Act, which defines who may engage in the professional activities of an internal auditor.

See the table below for more information